Eric Metaxas Defends Himself

Eric Metaxas has taken a lot of heat for supporting the candidacy of Donald Trump. I mean a lot. Many Evangelical thought leaders have come at him complete with lighted torches and pitchforks.

Metaxas is best known for his biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, which has been used against him, for surely he knows, as his critics allude, that Trump is a Hitlerian figure. Metaxas defends himself here in this conversation with DG Hart.

I, too, support the GOP presumptive nominee, though I was originally a Marco Rubio supporter. But in this political season and in light of the presumptive choice for the Democratic party, I have chosen to support and work for the GOP nominee, whoever that may have been.

I get the arguments against Trump. I get the conscience argument. I get the fascist concerns. I get the “he’s no angel” arguments. Etc., etc. So does Metaxas. If you disagree with me, of course, that makes you a Communist and the end of what has been our beautiful friendship. 🙂 

Here is the link. Go to hour number one and the meat of the relevant part of the conversation starts at 12” mark.

Leave a Reply

