Stations of the Cross During Holy Week

I commend to you the practice of meditation upon the 14 Stations of the Cross that depict the last 18 hours of Christ’s life and death. Many Anglican and all Roman Catholic churches have them within the sanctuary. RC churches are open all day so you can slip in on your own and walk from station to station, there to meditate on each phase of Christ’s sin bearing. Stand, don’t sit. Christ must stand for the 18 hours of sin bearing. You stand, too. No bodily comfort here. Let the standing in its small way remind you of the strain of our Lord. He even “stood” on the cross, held up by nails.

Here is a well done video to encourage you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s