From My Heart, Out Of My Mind

An Interesting Review of Rob Bell’s New Book, What We Talk About When We Talk About God

Posted by Don Bryant on April 1, 2013

No, I have not read Bell’s new book. I am going to. I wouldn’t consider myself a Bell fan, but Bell stands for one who has been inside the Evangelical subculture and struggles with its issues, both the things it has put together and the things it hasn’t. I tend to listen to people like that. It’s not because I struggle that much myself. I do struggle, for sure, but have found Evangelicalism comfortably my home. But at times it has been push and shove. I am particularly sensitive to Evangelicalism’s aversion to the mystical and its “all answers on board” demeanor. I am also somewhat rebuffed by its “the truth will set you free” understanding of the Christian life. It is decidedly a mental construct of the Christian life and feels like rational cognitive therapy. “Here is the truth – do it.” The complexities of the inner world are realities that do not get a lot of press in my camp. Bell might have gone off the reservation (I have no final judgment on this one). But the things he struggles with are struggles that come from my side of the track.

Here is a review of Bell’s recent book, What We Talk About When We Talk About God.

One Response to “An Interesting Review of Rob Bell’s New Book, What We Talk About When We Talk About God”

  1. billp5101 said

    “”Here is the truth – do it.” The complexities of the inner world are realities that do not get a lot of press in my camp.”
    I find there is a huge disconnect between what is taught and people’s experience; when things don’t work out you look back blaming yourself for not doing more. Where is the grace?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

